Home   |   Sign In   |   Join




Welcome to apex.aero, the website of the Airline Passenger Experience Association. APEX is a non-profit group whose members are dedicated to elevating the air travel experience for all passengers. APEX comprises companies that oversee every step of a passenger’s journey, from ticket purchase to baggage claim.

This is an innovative time for our industry, as every aspect of the passenger experience is being rethought and improved upon - from lounge design and cabin seating to entertainment and communication technologies. APEX members are introducing innovations that are redefining air travel, and the association is working right alongside them, driving excellence and offering support with a robust schedule of workshops, seminars and exhibitions.

APEX is one of the industry’s leading sources of airline passenger experience news and knowledge. If you represent an airline or an airline vendor, APEX membership offers relevant, valuable industry information that will prove essential to your professional development and the growth of your company.


Brian Richardson
President, APEX

the Board

The APEX Board of Directors uses this space to inform members about ongoing Board work and decisions. In addition to APEX association information in the magazine, the Board sends e-mails after each Board meeting to update the membership and to be as transparent as possible. Board information is also shared in APEX news Daily Experience and directs e-mails to the membership. 

Brian Richardson

American Airlines

Juha Järvinen Profile Pic
Juha Järvinen

Vice President

Maura Chacko Profile Pic
Maura Chacko


Joan Filippini Profile Pic
Joan Filippini

Paramount Pictures

Kevin Bremer Profile Pic
Kevin Bremer

Chief Advisor
The Boeing Company

Andres Castañeda Profile Pic
Andres Castañeda


Michael Childers Profile Pic
Michael Childers

Lufthansa Systems

Jon Norris Profile Pic
Jon Norris

Panasonic Avionics

Babar Rahman Profile Pic
Babar Rahman

Qatar Airways

Anton Vidgen Profile Pic
Anton Vidgen

Air Canada

Past Presidents

Year Conference Past President Details
2016 Singapore Brian Richardson, American Airlines
2015 Portland, Oregon USA Alfy Veretto, Virgin America
2014 Anaheim, California USA Alfy Veretto, Virgin America
2013 Anaheim, California USA Linda Celestino, Oman Air
2012 Long Beach, California Chris Babb, Delta Air Lines
2011 Seattle, Washington USA Patrick Brannelly, Emirates
2010 Long Beach, California USA Patrick Brannelly, Emirates
2009 Palm Springs, California USA Christine Ringger, Swiss International Air Lines, Ltd.
2008 Long Beach, California Doug Backelin, American Airlines
2007 Toronto, Canada Dee Brady, British Airways
2006 Miami, Florida, USA Maver Mayuga, Philippine Airlines
2005 Hamburg, Germany Kent Craver, Continental Airlines
2004 Seattle, Washington, USA Mary Rogozinski, United Airlines**
2003 Seattle, Washington, USA Mary Rogozinski, United Airlines**
2002 Seattle, Washington, USA Kent Craver, Continental Airlines
2001 Brisbane, Australia Sophie Vossenaar, KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
2000 Anaheim, California, USA Karen Schipper, El Al Israel Airlines
1999 Salt Lake City, Utah, USA Patrick Brannelly, Emirates
1998 Durban, Republic of South Africa Joe Leach, Delta Air Lines
1997 Orlando, Florida, USA David Svatos, Trans World Airlines
1996 Seattle, Washington, USA Dean Haehnel, Northwest Airlines
1995 Amsterdam, The Netherlands Ruth Rosenbrock, South African Airways
1994 Montreal, Quebec, Canada Ruth Rosenbrock*, South African Airways
1993 Palm Springs, California, USA Marianne Sammann, Lufthansa German Airlines
1992 Orlando, Florida, USA Carol Gregoire, Air Canada
1991 London, United Kingdom Mark Horton, British Airways
1990 Phoenix, Arizona, USA Italo Poli, Swissair
1989 Basel, Switzerland Italo Poli, Swissair
1988  Miami, Florida, USA Judy Oldam, Pan American World Airways
1987 Sydney, Australia David Peterson, Qantas Airways
1986 Palm Springs, California, USA Bob Ketleson, United Airlines
1985 Munich, Germany Georg Sahler, Lufthansa German Airlines
1984 San Diego, California, USA Don Buchanan, Canadian Pacific Airlines
1983 San Diego, California, USA John White, Delta Air Lines
1982 Phoenix, Arizona, USA Alaine Doré, Air Canada
1981 Phoenix, Arizona, USA Andrew Hoffman, Braniff Airways
1980 Phoenix, Arizona, USA Topper Van Avery, Western Airlines
1979 Palm Springs, California Claus Jensen, Thai Airways International (Chairman)

* Ruth Rosenbrock fulfilled the unexpired term of 2nd year elected and resigned Marianne Sammann
** Mary Rogozinski fulfilled the unexpired term of resigned Sue Luxem of American Airlines
NOTE: Prior to 1985, the Association was the AEA (Airline Entertainment Association).

©Airline Passenger Experience Association (APEX) 2016. All rights reserved.
 | Home|Contact Us|Login| Privacy Policy

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal